MINUTES OF THE AUSTRALIA DAY AWARDS COMMITTEE MEETING HELD IN THE COONABARABRAN COUNCIL CHAMBERS ON THURSDAY 14 DECEMBER 2023 COMMENCING AT 3.33PM.

PRESENT: Cr A Doolan (Mayor), Cr D Todd, Cr Z Holcombe, Cr J Newton, Cr K Rindfleish, and Roger Bailey (General Manager, GM),

APOLOGIES:

RESOLVED that the apologies from Cr A lannuzzi, Cr D Hogden, Cr C Kopke and Cr K Brady be accepted.

MOVED: Councillor Holcombe SECONDED Councillor Newton

For - Unanimous

The Mayor called for Conflicts of Interests

Cr Doolan declared a less than significant conflict of interest, his brother in law, Duncan Graham has made the nominations.

Cr Holcombe declared significant conflict of interest, in the nomination for Siding Spring Observatory StarFest for Community Event of the Year.

MOVED: Councillor Newton SECONDED Councillor Holcombe

For – Unanimous

Item 1 Recipients for the 2024 Australia Day Awards

Table 1 - Citizen of the Year

RESOLVED that Paul Wangmann be the recipient of the Citizen of the Year Award.

MOVED: Councillor Todd SECONDED Councillor Holcombe

For - Unanimous

Table 2 Young Citizen of the Year

RESOLVED that Declan Eshman be the recipient of the Young Citizen of the Year Award.

MOVED: Councillor Holcombe **SECONDED** Councillor Newton

For - Unanimous

Table 3 – Senior Citizen of the Year

RESOLVED that John Franklin be the recipient of the Senior Citizen of the Year Award.

MOVED: Councillor Newton SECONDED Councillor Holcombe

For – Unanimous

MINUTES OF THE AUSTRALIA DAY AWARDS COMMITTEE MEETING HELD IN THE COONABARABRAN COUNCIL CHAMBERS ON THURSDAY 14 DECEMBER 2023 COMMENCING AT 3.33PM.

Table 4 – Sportsperson of the Year

RESOLVED that Poihaere Birtles be the recipient of the Sportsperson of the Year Award.

MOVED: Councillor Holcombe SECONDED Councillor Todd

For – Unanimous

Table 5 – Young Sportsperson of the Year

RESOLVED that Kiesha Rusten be the recipient of the Young Sportsperson of the Year Award.

MOVED: Councillor Rindfleish SECONDED Councillor Newton

For - Unanimous

Having earlier declared a Conflict of Interest. Councillor Holcombe left the meeting at 3.45pm

Table 6 – Community Event of the Year

RESOLVED that the Tunes on the Turf, Dunedoo be awarded the Community Event of the Year Award.

MOVED: Councillor Rindfleish SECONDED Councillor Newton

For – Unanimous

Councillor Holcombe returned to the meeting at 3.51pm

Table 7 – Environmental Citizen of the Year

RESOLVED that May Whittall be the recipient of the Environmental Citizen of the Year Award

MOVED: Councillor Newton SECONDED Councillor Holcombe

For - Unanimous

Table 8 – Young Environmental Citizen of the Year

RESOLVED that the St John's Primary School Baradine Bird Helpers be the recipients of the Young Environmental Citizen of the Year Award.

MOVED: Councillor Todd SECONDED Councillor Newton

For - Unanimous

MINUTES OF THE AUSTRALIA DAY AWARDS COMMITTEE MEETING HELD IN THE COONABARABRAN COUNCIL CHAMBERS ON THURSDAY 14 DECEMBER 2023 COMMENCING AT 3.33PM.

Table 9 – Cultural Achievement Award

RESOLVED that Yulu-gi-Mari Dance Group be the recipient of the Cultural Achievement Award.

MOVED: Councillor Holcombe SECONDED Councillor Rindfleish

For - Unanimous

Certificate of Recognition – Recipient for each town RESOLVED that Certificates of Recognition be issued to

• Coonabarabran: Narelle Pfeiffer

Coolah: No nominations received

Dunedoo: Pamela BowmanBinnaway: Margaret Scifleet

Mendooran: No nominations received

MOVED: Councillor Todd SECONDED Councillor Newton

For - Unanimous

There being no further business, meeting was closed 3.56PM.